Discipline of Anaesthetics

Latest News


Welcome to the discipline of Anaesthetics

The Discipline of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care is located both within the Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine at 719 Umbilo Road (Room 420), Durban as well as at Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital (Level 4) at 800 Bellair Road, Mayville. 

For many years we have functioned as a metropolitan service for the Ethekweni region. We now serve a total of 8 hospitals:

  1. King Edward VIII (KEH) hospital
  2. Addington Hospital
  3. R K Khan (RKK)
  4. King Dinuzulu (George V (KGV))
  5. Prince Mshiyeni Memorial (PMMH)
  6. St Aidan’s Hospital
  7. Mahatma Gandhi Memorial (MGMH)
  8. Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital (IALCH).

In addition, our training site at Pietermaritzburg is a core part of the discipline. The site complex includes

  1. Grey’s Hospital
  2. Northdale Hospital and
  3. Edendale Hospital

Discipline Email

anaesthesiology@ukzn.ac.za is the preferred address for all admin queries. Staff are advised not to send communication to personal emails for admin purposes.

Please note that staff at the NRMSM are currently back at the office after working off-site due to COVID-19.

Thank you

Notices & Events

[MEC id=”258″]